Easy Homemade Vegan Butter (Soy free)

Since my infant son has a dairy sensitivity I have been off dairy for about 2 months. At first it was really rough and I was making huge changes to my diet. Things even more challenging when we realized that he is also sensitive to soy, including soybean oil. If you don’t know, soy protein, soy lecithin (an small-landscape-002emulsifier) and soybean oil find their way into lots of store-bought vegan products, including butter. And really, soy isn’t great for us anyway.

I’m sorry, I’m getting off track. Where was I? Oh yeah, butter. A life without butter is only a half-life! And so many yummy treats need butter. So I started my usual internet search in pursuit of a homemade version only to find that most of those contain soy as well! Well a little more digging and I started to come up with some promising result, but I am not one to leave well enough alone, so this is my version of soy-free vegan butter. Cashews are naturally sweet so this butter has a hint of sweetness, if that’s not your thing, use almonds instead  (brown skins removed). It is a salted butter, so it might be weird in recipes that need unsalted butter disrupting the flavor. I plan on trying an unsalted batch to see how it goes, if you try it without salt, please comment and let me know how it went. That being said, I made naan with this last night and my family gobbled it up! I am excited to try it in other things are see where it goes!

Ingredients:

2 oz unsalted cashews

10 TBSP unsweetened, unflavored rice milk

2 tsp nutritional yeast

1 tsp salt

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

1 cup refined coconut oil

1/4 tsp turmeric (optional)

Directions:

Place cashews in a blender and pulverize into a powder. Add  milk, yeast, salt and vinegar and pulse until smooth, not allowing your blender to get too hot. Add remaining ingredients and blend until the mixture is smooth, light and airy. Place in an airtight container (I used half pint mason jars) and refrigerate. Once cold, freeze if desired. Yield 2 cups.

  • Recipe Notes: Almonds can be used instead of cashews if the brown skins are removed. Any mildly flavored vegan-milk can be used, I have used hemp milk with good results. Coconut oil MUST be refined, not unrefined, or it will taste like coconut butter.
Leave a Reply

