Crispy Rice Treats

I debated for a long time time about what I should have my inaugural post to be and I decided it should probably be the dessert that I make the most often. I love a quick and yummy treat, something I can throw together in just a few minutes. My go-to quick treat is this delicious rice crispy made with nut butter and brown rice syrup. Brown rice syrup is one of my favorite sweeteners because it is virtually fructose free and is almost entirely glucose free, so it spares your liver from fructose overload. You can use maple syrup or honey, but will need to add more crispy rice. I seem to always have these on my counter because my kids can’t enough of them either! Bonus: They are gluten free!rk_originaltreats_061

Ingredients:

1 cup nut butter (I prefer natural peanut butter, but almond, cashew, or sunbutter will work as well)

1 cup brown rice syrup

4 cups crispy rice

Directions:

Place nut butter and syrup in a medium to large saucepan. Heat while stirring until ingredients are well combined. Remove from heat. Add crispy rice. Transfer to an oiled 8×8 glass baking dish. Refrigerate until firm. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

